Monte Castello di Vibio

virtual tour
Click on mage to open the virtual tour

In the historical center reside real gems preserved thanks to an urban restructuring which involved public and private buildings, to give this country the right value even from an architectural point of view.
Among the rarities the Teatro della Concordia "the smallest in the world", built in 1809, the Church of Santa Illuminata also known as the Crucifix, inside it preserves a wooden statue whose head (of 1400) that was donated by Beato Placido to Monte Castello, the bell tower with the War Memorial, the Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II with its terrace where you can admire the wide panorama in southern Umbria up to see the mountains of Lazio and Abruzzo.
On the same square overlooking the Parish Church of Ss Filippo e Giacomo of the eighteenth century, inside which is venerated image of Our Lady of Portenti with San Carlo Borromeo and a well tank of the sixteenth century,
The Tower of Porta di Maggio is witnessing the ancient ruins of this country.
Of particular interest are the narrow streets and picturesque corner.

By Simone Mazzi
Thanks to Edoardo Brenci of the "Società del Teatro della Concordia" - Monte Castello di Vibio


© Toni Garbasso